Skip to content

Committee Members

  • Home
  • Committee Members


President : David Gonzalez
Vice President : Ginny Ball
Treasurer : Stephen Ortiz
Secretary : Paul White

The Executive Committee is comprised of the Corporation's officers and oversees all District administrative functions including managing association staff, consulting contracts, corporate finances, insurance, grants, development of budget, Board agendas and meetings, correspondence, outreach, bylaws, Board policies, annual Board elections, and fundraising. Executive Committee members also establish, cultivate, and steward relationships with the City Manager’s office, elected officials, and public agencies.

District Identity

Committee Chair: Debra Legan
Committee Vice Chair: Trese Childs

Joshua Canada, Ph.D. 
Gina Lopez
Ben Pongetti
Alyson Tietze
Justin Tipton

The District Identity Committee supervises projects that market and promote the District or promote positive aspects of Uptown Whittier. Among the committee's responsibilities are managing the District's brand, public relations/social media, publication of a District newsletter, special events, website management, banner program, streetscape issues including landscaping design, tree selection, holiday decorations, visual linkages, new public spaces projects, improvements to public spaces in the district, district walking maps, brochures.

Sidewalk Operations

Committee Chair: Trese Childs

Greg Gomez
Joe Montes
Milt Pate
Stephen Ortiz
Steven Rodriguez
John Ford

The Sidewalk Operations Committee oversees maintenance and ambassador service provider contracts involved in the improvement of the public rights of way, including sidewalk sweeping, steam cleaning, landscaping, personnel and non-personnel expenses. The committee also coordinates with existing private security companies hired by private property owners within the district and maintains a relations with the Whittier Police Department.

Land Use

Committee Chair: Stephen Terzolo
Committee Chair: Paul White

Ginny Ball
Angie Mericle
Jason Moreno
Ben Pongetti

The Land Use Committee focuses on parking, transportation, mobility, planning, zoning, review of new developments, Uptown Community Plan review, width of sidewalks, alcohol permits and outdoor dining encroachments, review of new tenant improvements and its impact.

Whittier Street Photo